Implement a persistent message redistribution system with Apache Camel and Apache ActiveMQ.

Implement a persistent message redistribution system with Apache Camel and Apache ActiveMQ.

When you use routes Apache Camel™ in your integration and that a problem appears, the simple approach is to try again to send the message, especially for so-called "temporary" errors (example: in the event of a network failure, a return of messages while waiting for a network return).

In Apache Camel™, this redistribution rule is configured in the error handler. The latter can handle such errors. By default, the message to be redistributed is stored in memory. As a result, new trade is not transmitted, as the first trade is not reported as "treaty"!

This approach is problematic because if you restart the container hosting the Camel route (such as Apache Karaf™), the exchange is lost. In addition, in terms of performance, we would like to ensure continuity of exchanges.

In this article, we will illustrate several solutions to achieve a redistribution policy.

Adaptation of the article:" Implement simple persistent redelivery with backoff mixing Apache Camel & ActiveMQ » of blog Nanthrax  written by Jean-baptiste Onofré (Technical Advisor)
yupiik-camel-activemq-expertise-apache-redelivery

Apache routes Camel™

We will explore the roads to understand our case. In this example, we use DSL Camel Blueprint because the preferred container is Apache Karaf™. 

  • The first route is quite simple: it listens to incoming HTTP requests (using Camel Jetty), converts them into a chain and then sends them to a JMS queue.
  • The second route reads the messages from the JMS queue, prepares a JSON using a processor (registered as a service in Karaf) and calls a REST service.
 <blueprint xmlns="http://www.osgi.org/xmlns/blueprint/v1.0.0"            xmlns:cxf="http://camel.apache.org/schema/cxf">   <reference id="connectionFactory" interface="javax.jms.ConnectionFactory"/>   <reference id="jsonProcessor" interface="org.apache.camel.Processor" filter="(name=json)"/>   <cxf:rsClient id="rsClient" address="http://localhost:8181/cxf/test/"/>   <camelContext xmlns="http://camel.apache.org/schema/blueprint">      <route id="first">         <from uri="jetty:http://0.0.0.0:9090/first"/>         <convertBodyTo type="java.lang.String"/>         <wireTap uri=jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory"/>         <setBody><constant>OK</constant></setBody>      </route>      <route id="second">        <from uri="jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory"/>        <process ref="jsonProcessor"/>        <setHeader headerName="operationName"><constant>updateResource</constant></setHeader>        <setHeader headerName="CamelCxfRsUsingHttpAPI"><constant>false</constant></setHeader>        <setHeader herderName="CamelAcceptContentType"><constant>application/json</constant></setHeader>        <to uri="cxfrs://bean://rsClient?synchronous=true"/>      </route>   </camelContext> </blueprint>

Case 1

We would like to keep the message so that it can be redistributedeven in the event of a restart or platform failure

Solution

By default, it is already covered in Camel since it defines JMS messages as persistent.

Case 2

We would like to delete the message in the JMS queue only when it has actually been successfully processed.

Solution

In this case, we change the JMS acknowledgement mode. By default, Camel uses auto-ack, i.e. the ack is sent to the broker as soon as the message is read (i.e. just after theendpoint JMS). If an error/exception occurs on the Camel route, the message is deleted from the queue.

By switching the mode ack in mode ack clientwe can send the ack only at the time of the exchange. Thus, the message will be deleted from the queue when it has been processed successfully in its entirety.

To change the ack mode on the URI of the JMS endpoint:

<from uri="jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory&amp;acknowledgementModeName=CLIENT_ACKNOWLEDGE"/>

Case 3

We want to relaunch the message several times, or to infinity.

Solution

For this 3rd example, we change the supplier URL in the ActiveMQ factory connection. By default, the message is redistributed a maximum of 7 times. It can be modified on the URL used by my factory connection.

In the context where you define a maximum number of 10 times, you will have to do:

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">     
      <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=10" /> 
</bean>

You can redistribute it indefinitely (until the message expires) by using -1 for maximumRedeliveries

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">
     <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=-1" /> 
</bean>

Backoff ActiveMQ™

We have just learned about the redistribution mechanism of ActiveMQ which is quite practical. In order to optimize the number of attempts, we can introduce a certain delay between each one. The more the number increases, the more we can increase the delay: this is called a backoff delivery.

To be configured on the URL of the connection factory, you must use:

  • useExponentialBackOff allows for a backoff exponential. It is disabled by default;
  • backOffMultiplier Allows you to choose how to increase the delay. By default, the "new" delay is 5 times higher than the "previous" one;
  • initialRedeliveryDelay is the time limit of delivery initial. This is the start time of the backoff. By default, it is 1000Lor 1 second;
  • maximumRedeliveryDelay is the maximum time we can have. By default, it is 1which means there is no maximum

So, we will update the URL of the connection factory to allow for a backoff delivery :

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">
     <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=-1&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.useExponentialBackOff=true&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.initialRedeliveryDelay=2000L&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.backOffMultiplier=2" /> 
</bean>

We have a policy here of backoff delivery which will double the delay for each attempt, starting at 2 seconds. Thanks to this, we keep a fairly simple Camel route and benefit from a correct and exponential redistribution, with backoff management.

Blocked in your roadmaps?

Would you like to train your teams?

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Implémenter un système persistant de redistribution des messages avec Apache Camel et Apache ActiveMQ.

Implémenter un système persistant de redistribution des messages avec Apache Camel et Apache ActiveMQ.

Lorsque vous utilisez des routes Apache Camel™ dans votre intégration et qu’un problème apparaît, la démarche simple est de réessayer l’envoi du message notamment pour les erreurs dites « temporaires » (exemple : en cas de panne de réseau, un renvoi de messages dans l’attente d’un retour de réseau).

Dans Apache Camel™, cette règle de redistribution est configurée dans le gestionnaire d’erreurs. Ce dernier peut prendre en charge de telles erreurs. Par défaut, le message à redistribuer est stocké en mémoire. De ce fait, les nouveaux échanges ne sont pas transmis, car le premier n’est pas signalé comme «traité» !

Cette approche pose problème car si vous redémarrez le conteneur hébergeant la route Camel (comme Apache Karaf™), l’échange est perdu. De plus, en termes de performances, nous voudrions assurer une continuité des échanges.

Dans cet article, nous allons illustrer plusieurs solutions pour parvenir à une politique de redistribution.

Adaptation de l’article :  « Implement simple persistent redelivery with backoff mixing Apache Camel & ActiveMQ » du blog Nanthrax  écrit par Jean-baptiste Onofré (Technical Advisor)

yupiik-camel-activemq-expertise-apache-redelivery

Les routes Apache Camel™

Nous allons explorer les routes pour comprendre notre cas. Dans cet exemple, nous utilisons DSL Camel Blueprint car le conteneur de prédilection est Apache Karaf™. 

  • La première route est assez simple : elle écoute les requêtes entrantes HTTP (en utilisant Camel Jetty), les convertit en chaîne pour ensuite les envoyer dans une file d’attente JMS.
  • La seconde route lit les messages de la file d’attente JMS, prépare un JSON en utilisant un processeur (enregistré comme service dans Karaf) et appelle un service REST.
 <blueprint xmlns="http://www.osgi.org/xmlns/blueprint/v1.0.0"            xmlns:cxf="http://camel.apache.org/schema/cxf">   <reference id="connectionFactory" interface="javax.jms.ConnectionFactory"/>   <reference id="jsonProcessor" interface="org.apache.camel.Processor" filter="(name=json)"/>   <cxf:rsClient id="rsClient" address="http://localhost:8181/cxf/test/"/>   <camelContext xmlns="http://camel.apache.org/schema/blueprint">      <route id="first">         <from uri="jetty:http://0.0.0.0:9090/first"/>         <convertBodyTo type="java.lang.String"/>         <wireTap uri=jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory"/>         <setBody><constant>OK</constant></setBody>      </route>      <route id="second">        <from uri="jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory"/>        <process ref="jsonProcessor"/>        <setHeader headerName="operationName"><constant>updateResource</constant></setHeader>        <setHeader headerName="CamelCxfRsUsingHttpAPI"><constant>false</constant></setHeader>        <setHeader herderName="CamelAcceptContentType"><constant>application/json</constant></setHeader>        <to uri="cxfrs://bean://rsClient?synchronous=true"/>      </route>   </camelContext> </blueprint>

Cas n°1

Nous souhaitons conserver le message pour pouvoir le redistribuer, même en cas de redémarrage ou de panne de la plateforme

Solution

Par défaut, il est déjà couvert dans Camel puisqu’il définit les messages JMS comme persistants.

Cas n°2

Nous souhaitons supprimer le message de la file d’attente JMS uniquement lorsqu’il a réellement été traité avec succès.

Solution

Dans ce cas, nous changeons le mode d’acquittement JMS. Par défaut, Camel utilise auto-ack, c’est à dire que l’ack est envoyé au broker dès que le message est lu (soit juste après l’endpoint JMS). Si une erreur/exception se produit de la route Camel, le message est supprimé de la file d’attente.

En basculant le mode ack en mode ack client, nous pouvons envoyer l’ack uniquement au moment de l’échange. Ainsi, le message sera supprimé de la file d’attente lorsque celui-ci a été traité avec succès dans son intégralité.

Pour modifier le mode ack sur l’URI de l’endpoint JMS :

<from uri="jms:queue:second?connectionFactory=connectionFactory&amp;acknowledgementModeName=CLIENT_ACKNOWLEDGE"/>

Cas n°3

Nous souhaitons relancer le message plusieurs fois, ou à l’infini.

Solution

Pour cette 3ème exemple, nous changeons l’URL fournisseur dans la connection factory d’ActiveMQ. Par défaut, le message est redistribué 7 fois au maximum. Il peut être modifié sur l’URL utilisée par ma connection factory.

Dans le cadre où vous définissez un nombre maximum de 10 fois, vous devrez faire :

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">     
      <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=10" /> 
</bean>

Vous pouvez le redistribuer indéfiniment (jusqu’à expiration du message) en utilisant -1 pour maximumRedeliveries

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">
     <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=-1" /> 
</bean>

Backoff ActiveMQ™

Nous venons d’appréhender le mécanisme de redistribution d’ActiveMQ qui est assez pratique. Afin d’optimiser le nombre de tentatives, nous pouvons introduire un certain délai entre chaque. Plus le nombre s’accroît, plus nous pouvons augmenter le délai : c’est ce qu’on appelle une backoff delivery.

Pour être configuré sur l’URL de la connection factory, il faut utiliser :

  • useExponentialBackOff permet un backoff exponentiel. Il est désactivé par défaut ;
  • backOffMultiplier : permet de choisir la façon d’augmenter le délai. Par défaut, le «nouveau» délai est 5 fois plus élevé que le «précédent» ;
  • initialRedeliveryDelay est le délai de delivery initial. C’est le temps de démarrage du backoff. Par défaut, c’est 1000L, soit 1 seconde ;
  • maximumRedeliveryDelay est le délai maximum que nous pouvons avoir. Par défaut, c’est 1, ce qui signifie qu’il n’y a pas maximum

Donc, nous mettrons à jour l’URL de la connection factory pour permettre un backoff delivery :

<bean id="connectionFactory" class="org.apache.activemq.ActiveMQConnectionFactory">
     <property name="brokerURL" value="tcp://localhost:61616?jms.redeliveryPolicy.maximumRedeliveries=-1&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.useExponentialBackOff=true&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.initialRedeliveryDelay=2000L&amp;jms.redeliveryPolicy.backOffMultiplier=2" /> 
</bean>

Nous avons ici une politique de backoff delivery qui doublera le délai pour chaque tentative, à partir de 2 secondes. Grâce à cela, nous gardons une route Camel assez simple et bénéficions d’une redistribution correcte et exponentielle, avec gestion du backoff.

Bloqué dans vos roadmaps ?

Vous souhaitez former vos équipes ?

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais